Easter Treasure Hunts

Time to Metagrobolize

The final prize

 Encryption and security are a big thing for the internet age. But my interest developed from the history of cryptographic systems – secret codes – through books like Cryptonomicon by Neal Stephenson which fictionalises the various technologies and narratives that led to the breaking of the German Enigma code and the digital computer.

I’d completely forgotten the joy of making a treasure hunt – especially as it uses the principles of serious data protection, but is a lot more fun. And instead of personal information, the prize is… Chocolate!!

2014-04-09 23.49.33

I also learned that the Greek grîphos and Latin scirpus come from their words meaning “a challenge, problem or engima” and are the earliest words we know of in relation to the idea of the  ” riddle” and “puzzle”. So with Latin dictionary in hand, I set out to create just that. I joke; no Latin was harmed in the making of this.

2014-04-09 23.48.33

I obviously hand-typed all the clues.

After some market research, I discovered that a four clue treasure hunt, taking about an hour and a half would be the most anyone could really handle when it came to trying to understand my thought processes and logic. Here’s where the word metagrobolize becomes the most accurate term to define my thinking process – they aren’t just problems, they are mystifying! Here’s a peek at my work in progress to give you an idea:

2014-04-09 23.52.46

The information looks more complicated than it is! (And because important answers and clues are on it.) I’m not sure what my whiteboard says about my thought processes – any insights?

2014-04-09 23.50.39

So, like Stephenson’s book, my treasure hunt is hard science hidden in nicely rewarding pretty paper that takes all the scary and world-changing innovations and turns it into a fun afternoon of chocolate finding brain bamboozlement.  And then certificates were hot on the menu for those weird people who don’t think chocolate is enough of a reward.

2014-04-09 23.46.50

Happy Easter!

Leave a Reply

